National Engineering Landmark - Engineering Works of the River MurrayPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Stephen Warren

The plaque recognises the engineering works of the River Murray as a National Engineering Landmark.

The Institution of Engineers Australia, through its Heritage Committees, established the Australian Historic Engineering Plaquing Program to acknowledge past engineering achievements and to draw public attention to the significant contributions they have made to society. The Plaquing Program is a means of bringing public recognition to significant historic engineering works and the engineers who created them. The Program is intended to contribute to the conservation of Australian engineering heritage.


Address:Godley Street, Lock 1, Blanchetown, 5357
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.350501
Long: 139.615575
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Technology


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:2001
Front Inscription

National Engineering Landmark
  Institution of Engineers, 


The inter-governmental conference on the waters of the River Murray at Corowa in 1902 gave rise to one of the great engineering initiatives of the new Federation.  The creation of the River Murray Commission in 1915 by the governments of the Commonwealth, New South Wales, South Australia and Victoria established the framework under which the four governments would work together for the equitable, efficient and sustainable use of the waters of the River Murray. A comprehensive scheme of works, comprising the Hume and Dartmouth Dams, Lake Victoria and a series of locks, weirs and barrages from Yarrawonga to the Murray mouth, has been constructed to support irrigation, urban water supply, hydro-electric generation, navigation, recreation and flood mitigation. Their purpose continues to be to contribute to human welfare.  The challenge remains for current and future generations to ensure that continuing operations sustain the health of the river's ecological community.
Similar plaques are at Hume Dam and Yarrawonga Weir.
                   Dedicated by 
The Institution of Engineers, Australia
and the Murray Darling Basin Commission  
2001 - The Centenary of Federation

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au