Syndicate of SevenPrint Page Print this page

Syndicate of Seven : 01-June-2013
Syndicate of Seven : 01-June-2013

Photographs supplied by Arthur Garland

The sculptures depict the seven men who founded Broken Hill when they pegged claims for mining leases along the Line of Lode in 1883.

Charles Rasp, a boundary rider on Mt Gipps Station was the first to do so. The other six men were fellow station workers, and included the manager of Mt Gipps Station. The syndicate - David James, James Poole, Charles Rasp, George McCulloch, Phillip Charley, George Urquhart, George Lind - discovered a mineral deposit of such size that it created Broken Hill and funded the country`s industrialisation. The men`s discovery was the foundation of not only the city, but of the biggest mining company in the world. These leases were the foundation for the forming of the Broken Hill Mining Company (BHP) in 1885, a company that went on to be the one of the most profitable in Australia's history.



Address:Blende & Sulphide Streets, Broken Hill Council , Broken Hill, 2880
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -31.958167
Long: 141.462517
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Sculpture
Monument Theme:Technology
Artist:Geoff Demain


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 1st November, 2008
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au