Rod LaverPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders

The sculpture commemorates tennis player, Rod Laver who holds the record for titles won in career, and was the World No. 1 player for seven consecutive years, from 1964 to 1970 (from 1964 to 1967 in the professional circuit) .

Rod Laver is the only tennis player to have twice won the Grand Slam (all four major singles titles in the same year) – first as an amateur in 1962 and second as a professional in 1969. He is the only male player and was the first player, male or female, to have won the Grand Slam during the open era.

Rod Laver is the second and last male player to win each major title twice in his career. Only Roy Emerson and Margaret Court had won all four Grand Slam tournaments twice before Laver in the history of tennis. 


Address:Olympic Boulevard & Batman Avenue, Tennis Centre, Melbourne, 3000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.822229
Long: 144.979065
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Sculpture
Monument Theme:People
Artist:Lis Johnson (Barkers Creek, VIC)


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:January-2017
Front Inscription

Rod Laver AC MBE

Rod "Rocket" Laver is among the greatest tennis players the world has ever seen.

Born in 1938 in Rockhampton, Queensland, Laver is the only player to have completed the coveted "Grand Slam" twice - winning all four major singles titles in the same year.

Laver was ranked world No.1 for seven consecutive years and won more than 200 singles titles, a record in the men`s game.  His sporting demeanour on and off the court won the admiration of fans worldwide.

Belying his mighty achievements, Laver remains an unassuming champion, and inspiration to his fellow Australians and a beloved national treasure.

Calender Year Grand Slam (Singles) : 1962 , 1969
Winner of 20 Grand Slam titles
Singles Champion :
Australian Open 1960, 1962, 1969
Roland Garros 1962, 1969
Wimbledon 1961, 1962, 1968, 1969
US Open 1962, 1969
Australian Davis Cup Representative : 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1973
Davis Cup Victories : 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1973

Sculptor : Lis Johnson

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au