William O`DonnellPrint Page Print this page

William ODonnell Memorial
William ODonnell Memorial

Photographs supplied by Diane Watson

The monument recognises the contribution to the East Kimberley by William O'Donnell who surveyed the Lower Ord River with William Carr-Boyd in 1883. 

In 1883 an expedition led by W. J. O'Donnell, on behalf of the Cambridge Downs Pastoral Association, left Katherine to explore the country around the Cambridge Gulf hoping to establish a sheep station. The party of six men, including a cook and an Aboriginal boy, with twenty-six horses and provisions for six months, left Katherine on the 26 March. O'Donnell named the impressive Carr Boyd Range after his companion on 26 May 1883.


Address:O`Donnell Street, Wyndham Historical Society Museum , Wyndham, 6740
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -15.461533
Long: 128.101044
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:People
Monument Manufacturer:Wyndham Historical Society


Front Inscription

This memorial recognises the contribution to the East Kimberley by William O`Donnell who (with William Carr - Boyd) surveyed the Lower Ord River in 1833.

O`Donnell adjacent to this memorial was named in his honour

Erected by the Wyndham Historical Society

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au