Vaughan JohnsonPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Diane Watson

The Vaughan Johnson Lookout was named after former Member for Gregory, Vaughan Johnson in recognition for his advocacy and efforts made towards the advancement of the sealed road network in Western Queensland. 

Vaughan Gregory Johnson (born 20 July 1947) is an Australian politician. Born in Bourke, New South Wales, he was a grazier and contractor before entering politics. Having moved to Queensland, he was a councillor on Quilpie Shire Council from 1970 to 1973. From 1972 to 1973, he was Chairman of the Quilpie Branch of the National Party. In 1989, Johnson was elected to the Legisative Assembly of Queensland as the National Party member for Gregory. He followed the Queensland Nationals into the Liberal National Party in 2008, and held the seat until his retirement in 2015.

The drive from Bedourie to Boulia is now even more memorable with the opening of a new lookout to take in the spectacular rugged scenery. On Saturday night more than 100 people gathered on a hilltop 90km north of Bedourie along the Bedourie-Boulia road for the official opening of the new Vaughan Johnson Lookout. Opening the proceedings Diamantina Shire Mayor Cr Robbie Dare said the Lookout was named after the Member for Gregory, Mr Vaughan Johnson MP, in recognition of his advocacy and efforts made towards the advancement of the sealed road network in Western Queensland.

Accepting the honour Mr Johnson stressed the importance of the continued need to push for infrastructure in Outback Queensland. “While there may not be many of us, we provide a lot of dollars to this State, if not this country, and you only need to look at the Diamantina Shire to see this. So whether it is broadband or bitumen we need to continue the fight.” The $407,000 project was made possible through the support and vision of the Diamantina Shire Council, along with assistance from the Queensland Government, Hastings Deering and the North Australian Pastoral Company (NAPCO).

In a separate ceremony, Mr Johnson along with Diamantina Shire’s Mayor Cr Robbie Dare and Cr Joyce Crombie, presided over the opening of the lookout’s new eco-friendly toilet, fondly dubbed the ‘loo with a view’, constructed with funding from the Department of Employment, Economic Development and Innovation’s 2011-12 Minor Tourism Infrastructure Grants program. “I’ve been asked to open a lot of things in my time, but never a loo with a view,” Mr Johnson laughed. As Cr Crombie cut the ribbon he added, “I now declare the loo with a view open. Who’d like to use it first?” 
Diamantina Shire Council, Media Release, 24th April 2012.


Address:Diamantina Developmental Road (Boulia-Bedourie Road), Marion Downs Station, Bedourie, 4829
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -23.68918
Long: 139.635498
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:People
Sub-Theme:Government - State


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 21st April, 2012
Front Inscription

Vaughan Johnson Lookout

Official Opening by 
Vaughan Johnson MP 
Member for Gregory  
On April 21, 2012

This project was made possible by the support and vision of the Diamantina Shire Council. Funding for the project was supported by the Queensland Government ($50,000), Hastings Deering ($10,000), Desert Channels Queensland ($5,000), Diamantina Shire Council ($342,000) and kind assistance from the North Australian Pastorial Company (NAPCO)
Project Budget                   $ 407,000
Marion Downs Station        Mr Rob Jansen
Works Manager                  Mr Trevor Stewart
Design                                Diamantina Shire Council 
Builder Infrastructure          Mr Glen Stacy, Shade and Solutions Pty Ltd 
Project                                Mr Brian Mooney 

Diamantina Shire Council Members 
Cr Robbie Dare (Mayor), Cr Barry Gaffney (Deputy Mayor) 
Cr Joyce Crombie, Cr Garth Tully and Cr Steve Cramer

This Lookout on Marion Downs Station has been officially named the Vaughan Johnson Lookout in recognition of Vaughan Johnson`s advocacy and the effort he has made towards the advancement of the sealed road network in Western Queensland. 
Mr Scott Mason                          Cr Robbie Dare 
Executive Officer                         Mayor

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au