Harry SpringettPrint Page Print this page

Springett Rotunda : August-2014
Springett Rotunda : August-2014

Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams / John Huth
The rotunda commemorates 50 years of continuous service to Local Government and the community by Harry Springett.

The Harry Springett Band Rotunda was erected in the Gardens and officially opened by the Mayor of Wingecarribee, Jim Tuddenham on Sunday 22nd December 1996. The rotunda was donated to Wingecarribee Council for the enjoyment of residents and visitors to the Gardens by Ted Springett, Harry’s brother. The bricks and pavers were given by Bowral Brickworks. This ‘replica’ band rotunda was installed on top of the 1984 fountain base and walls. As a result the 1996 band rotunda was located in a different area to the original 1914 rotunda which was adjacent to the park’s main access path in the centre of the Garden. 

The original 1914 band-rotunda removed in the 1960s was restored and can be found in a private garden in Burradoo.


Address:Merrigang & Bendooley Streets, Corbett Gardens, Harry Springett Rotunda , Bowral, 2576
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.478547
Long: 150.420132
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:People
Sub-Theme:Government - Local


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 22nd December, 1996
Front Inscription

Harry Springett Rotunda


Left Side Inscription
The Harry Springett Rotunda

Wingecarribee Council acknowledges with gratitude and appreciation 50 Years continuous service to Local Government and the community by Harry Springett M.B.E.

Officially opened by Clr Jim Tuddenham  
Mayor of Wingecarribee Council
22nd December 1996

"Service above self"
Right Side Inscription

This plaque is to pay tribute to Harry Springett M.B.E. for his service to the community

World War II
1941-1945                1st DIV. RAAC

Bowral Municipal Council
1947 - 1980               Alderman
1952 - 1962               Mayor
1966 - 1970               Mayor

Wingecaribee Council
1981 - 1987              Councillor

Illawarra County Council
1953 - 1977              Councillor
1981 - 1987              Councillor
1981                         Chairman

Electricity Commission NSW
1961 - 1971              Executive

Bowral Tulip Time
1961                        President

Bowral / Mittagong Rotary Club
1973                        President

1976 Awarded M.B.E. for service to local government

22nd December 1996


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au