Jubilee 150Print Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Stephen Warren

The time capsule commemorates the 150th anniversary of the European settlement of South Australia from 1836 to 1986.

The British Province of South Australia was established by the South Australia Act 1834 in August 1834, and the South Australian Company formed on 9 October 1835 to fulfil the purposes of the Act by forming a new colony financed by land sales. The first settlers arrived on Kangaroo Island in July 1836, with all of the ships later sailing north soon afterwards to anchor in Holdfast Bay on the advice of Surveyor-General, Colonel William Light. The Proclamation of the new Province by Governor Hindmarsh at Glenelg took place on 28 December 1836.


Address:Mount Barker Road, Heysen Trail, Bridgewater, 5155
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.009231
Long: 138.758372
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:Landscape
Approx. Event Start Date:1836
Approx. Event End Date:1986


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Friday 28th November, 1986
Front Inscription

A Time Capsule Was Buried Here
On The 28th November 1986
   By The Residents Of
The District Council Of Stirling
To Commemorate The States
Jubilee 150 Birthday Celebrations.

Retrieval Of The Capsule
By The D.C. Of Stirling
Is Planned For The
28th November 2036. A. D.
The States Bicentennial Year.

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design