Explorers & Commonwealth JubileePrint Page Print this page

A cairn commemorates the explorers of the Menindee district; Mitchell 1835, Sturt 1844-6 and Burke and Wills 1860-2, and the jubilee of the Commonwealth of Australia.

The jubilee celebrations at Menindee were attended by the Governor of N.S.W. (Lieut-General Sir John Northcott). He inspected a guard of honor provided by the R.S.S. and A.I.L.A. in charge of Mr. J. Ferguson (secretary) and the Junior Red Cross, commanded by Miss Marie Travis. The president of the Menindee and District Progress Association (Mr. W. P. Murray) paid tribute the deeds of the early explorers, Mr. N. O. Farrar, supported Mr. Murray's remarks. The Governor unveiled a memorial cairn commemorating the early explorers of the district —Major Mitchell, 1835; Captain Sturt, 1844-6; Burke and Wills, (1861-62), and the inception of Federation in 1901.
Barrier Miner (Broken Hill, NSW), 14 May 1951.


Address:Menindee Street, Burke & Wills Park , Menindee, 2879
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -32.391968
Long: 142.417821
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Landscape


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Wednesday 9th May, 1951
Source: H, MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design