20 Years of Self GovernmentPrint Page Print this page

Local Govt Inscription
Local Govt Inscription

Photographs supplied by Diane Watson

The monument commemorates 20 years of self government in the Northern Territory. 

Self-government was conferred on the Northern Territory on 1 July 1978 by the Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act 1978 of the Commonwealth. This Act is effectively the Northern Territory's "constitution". As an Act of the Commonwealth Parliament it is entrenched and subject to amendment or repeal by the Commonwealth.

The Northern Territory Parliament became responsible for most state-type functions during the second half of 1979 with the power to legislate for state-type functions except:

  • matters relating to Aboriginal land;
  • the mining of uranium;
  • national parks; and
  • most matters of industrial relations

For inter-governmental financial purposes the Northern Territory has been regarded by the Commonwealth as a State since 1 July 1988.


Address:41 Peko Road, Barkly Regional Council, Tennant Creek, 0860
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -19.646567
Long: 134.195969
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Government
Approx. Event Start Date:1978
Approx. Event End Date:1998


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Tuesday 15th September, 1998
Front Inscription


20 Years Celebration Of Self Government
        Unveiled By His Excellency
     Sir William Deane AC KBE
Governor General Of
       The Commonwealth Australia
      On 15 September 1998

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au