Five PremiersPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Bryan Hardy

The memorial was erected to commemorate five previous Premiers of Western Australia who had a connection to the Northam district. 


Address:Grey Street & Minson Avenue, Northam Visitor Centre, Northam, 6401
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -31.652222
Long: 116.671389
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Government


Front Inscription

George Throssell
1840 - 1910

He was a Northam businessman, land owner, Mayor and M.L.A.  George Throssell was elected the second Premier of W.A. in 1901.  He later served in the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council. Influential in arranging for the Yilgarn railway line to be built via Northam.

Sir H. P. (Hal) Colebatch

He was a Northam newspaper proprietor, Mayor and M.L.C.  He was appointed to the position of Premier of W.A. in 1919. Sir Colebatch is the only M.L.C. in W.A. to become a Premier.  Appointed Agent General for W.A. in London in 1923 and in 1933.


Left Side Inscription

A. R. G. (Bert) Hawke
1900 - 1986

Bert Hawke was an organiser for the WA Labor Party in 1928.  He was elected as M.L.A. for Northam for 1933, for 35 years. He was Leader of the Opposition from 1951 and again from 1959.  Elected as the Premier of W.A. in 1953, serving as such until 1959.

Back Inscription

Dr Carmen Lawrence
1948 -

Dr Lawrence was initially elected to W.A. Parliament in 1986 and was promoted to State Government Minister in 1988. She was elected to the position of Premier of W.A. in 1990 and holds the honour of being the first woman Premier in Australia.

Right Side Inscription

Sir James Mitchell
1866 - 1951

Sir James Mitchell was a Northam Bank Manager and M.L.A.  He was elected Premier of W.A. in 1919 and again in 1930.  Appointed to the position of Lieutenant-Governor on W.A. in 1933.  He held the position of Governor of W.A. in 1948, retiring in 1951.

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au