40th Anniversary of Self GovernmentPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Stephen Warren

The flagpole commemorates the 40th Anniversary of Self Government in the Northern Territory from July 1978 to July 2018.

The Government of the Northern Territory of Australia, also referred to as the Northern Territory Government, is the Australian territorial democratic administrative authority of the Northern Territory. The Government of Northern Territory was formed in 1978 with the granting of self-government to the Territory. The Northern Territory is a territory of the Commonwealth of Australian, and the Constitution of Australia and Commonwealth law regulates its relationship with the Commonwealth.

Under the Australian Constitution, the Commonwealth has full legislative power, if it chooses to exercise it, over the Northern Territory, and has devolved self-government to the Territory. The Northern Territory legislature does not have the legislative independence of the Australian states but has power in all matters not in conflict with the Constitution and applicable Commonwealth laws, but subject to a Commonwealth veto.


Address:Esplanade, Legislative Assembly of tthe Northern Territory, Darwin, 0800
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -12.4668356
Long: 130.8426722
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Flagpole
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-July-1978
Actual Event End Date:01-July-2018


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 1st July, 2018
Front Inscription

This flagpole was commissioned by the Hon Kezia Purick MLA Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

To commemorate the 40th anniversary of self-government in the Northern Territory on 1 July 2018.

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au