Centenary of QueenslandPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth

The plaque on the Patrick Leslie monument commemorates the centenary of formally establishing the State of Queensland by proclamation as a separate colony from New South Wales in 1859. 

 On 6 June 1859, Queen Victoria signed Letters Patent to form the separate colony of Queensland as a self-governing Crown colony with responsible government. Brisbane was selected as the capital city. On 10 December 1859, a proclamation was read by George Bowen, the first Governor of Queensland, formally establishing Queensland as a separate colony from New South Wales.  On 22 May 1860 the first Queensland election was held and Robert Herbert, Bowen's private secretary, was appointed as the first Premier of Queensland. 



Address:Leyburn - Cunningham Road, Cunningham, 4370
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -28.158931
Long: 151.835539
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:10-December-1859
Actual Event End Date:10- December-1959
Approx. Event End Date:


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 10th December, 1959
Front Inscription

Erected by the Rosenthal Shire Council

To mark the Centenary of Queensland

1859 - 1959.

Unveiled by Councillor J. A. Costello O. B. E. Chairman of the Shire on 10th December, 1959


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au