Contribution of Taroom Divisional Board & Taroom Shire CouncilPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth

The time capsule commemorates the contribution of the former Taroom Divisional Board and the Taroom Shire Council to the community. The Taroom Shire Council Division 1 was merged with Banana Shire Council and Taroom Shire Council Division 2 was merged with Dalby Regional Council on 14 March 2008. 



Address:24 Yaldwyn Street (Leichhardt Highway), Taroom, 4420
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -25.641343
Long: 149.796018
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Time Capsule
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:11-November-1879
Actual Event End Date:14-March-2008


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:March-2008
Front Inscription

Plaque :

Taroom Divisional Board
11 November 1879 to 31 March 1903

Taroom Shire Council
31 March 1903 to 14 March 2008

Time Capsule

In recognition of the contribution of the Board and Council to their Community
Deposited - March 2008
To be opened - March 2033

At midnight 14 March 2008 Taroom Shire Council Division 1 area was incorporated into Banana Shire Council
Taroom Shire Council Division 2 area was merged with the newly constituted Dalby Regional Council

Councillors : -
Cr D F Stiller (Mayor)

Division 1                                                 Division 2
Cr O J Becker (Deputy Mayor)                Cr W W Blackley
Cr C E Boyce                                           Cr C V Donohue
Cr D S Hansen                                        Cr G J O'Mara
Cr I W Hay                                               Cr I D Staines

Chief Executive Officer Mr D B Carr

Consulting Engineers Brandon & Associates




Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design