Centenary of Local GovernmentPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Bryan Cole

The garden commemorates the centenary of local government in the Stirling District from 1883 to 1983. The garden was redeveloped in 2013.

The District Council of Stirling was a local government area of South Australia from 1883 to 1997, seated at Stirling. The council was established in 1883 from a western portion of the District Council of Echunga and an eastern portion of the District Council of Mitcham. Stirling council annexed a northerly-adjacent portion of the District Council of Crafers when it was abolished in 1935, enlarging the council area in a region of high population growth.

In 1997 Stirling amalgamated with the district councils of Onkaparinga and East Torrens to its north, and the District Council of Gumeracha, to form the much larger Adelaide Hills Council.



Address:Mount Barker Road & Merrion Terrace, Coventry Library Grounds, Stirling, 5152
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.005757
Long: 138.717714
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Garden
Monument Theme:Government
Approx. Event Start Date:1883
Approx. Event End Date:1983


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:November-1983
Front Inscription

District Council of Stirling

This garden was developed to commemorate the Centenary of Local Government in the Stirling District
1883  -  1983

Established November 1983.

Redevelopment completed in 2013 to celebrate 30 years

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design