Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Stephen Warren

The trees commemorate the centenary of the Federation of Australia and the International Year of the Volunteer.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia formed one nation. They kept the systems of government (and the bicameral legislatures) that they had developed as separate colonies, but they also agreed to have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.




Address:Highway B12, Rest Area, Parilla, 5303
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.296406
Long: 140.666751
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Trees
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 29th July, 2001
Front Inscription

Plaque :

Parilla Sports Ground & Town Committee

Trees planted on the 29th July 2001 - Planet Ark Day

To commemorate the year of Centenary Federation and International Year of the Volunteer

[ Names and Organisations ]

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design