Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth

The sculpture "Spirit Stone" was presented by the Rotary Club of Yeppoon to commemorate the Centenary of Federation of the Australian Colonies in 1901.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia formed one nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia. They kept the systems of government that they had developed as separate colonies but also would have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation.



Address:Anchor Drive, Rosslyn Bay, Yeppoon, 4703
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -23.164002
Long: 150.789239
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Sculpture
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001
Artist:Maurice Lempire


Front Inscription

             "SPIRIT STONE" 
           by Maurice Lempire
    A sculpture in Stanwell sandstone
Presented by the Rotary Club of Yeppoon 
to the people of Livingstone Shire 
to celebrate the Centenary of Australia`s Federation.

A project of
the Rotary Club
of Yeppoon

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design