Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams

The time capsule commemorates the centenary of the Federation of the Australian colonies in January 1901.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia formed one nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia. They kept the systems of government that they had developed as separate colonies but also would have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation.



Address:Sir Henry Parkes Avenue, Corridor of Oaks, Park, Faulconbridge, 2776
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.695019
Long: 150.538518
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Time Capsule
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 1st December, 2001
Front Inscription

This Time Capsule was
    buried by
Blue Mountains City Council
  and the
Faulconbridge Residents Association
Saturday, 1 December 2001

The contents commemorate our
Centenary of Federation Year - 2001
and the important historic events surrounding it as
enjoyed by the residents of the City of Blue Mountains 
the city within a World Heritage National Park.

It is to be opened on 1 December 2101

We hope you find the contents in excellent condition

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design