Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth

The monument commemorates the centenary of the Federation of the Australian Colonies.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia formed one nation.  When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:Dawson Highway, Botanical Gardens, Springsure, 4722
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -24.118364
Long: 148.090176
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 19th April, 2001
Front Inscription

Plaque :

This foundation stone was laid by Councillor Don Williams, Mayor, Bauhinia Shire Council on April 19th 2001 to commemorate the Centenary of Federation.

A joint project by Australian Federal Government and Bauhinia Shire Council.

Plaque :

"This project is financially assisted by the Queensland Government, through the Queensland Community assistance Program of the Centenary of Federation Queensland."


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design