Sydney Writers Walk Print Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Russell Byers / Peter F Williams / Allegra Marshall

The Sydney Writers Walk is a series of plaques from around the International Passenger Terminal on West Circular Quay, down to the walkway between the ferry jetties and the train station, and all the way to the side of the Sydney Opera House forecourt on East Circular Quay. The plaques contain an excerpt of the author's writing as well as a brief biography.

The writers represented on Writers Walk include not only Australians but also those who lived in, or visited, Australia, such as D. H. Lawrence, Rudyard Kipling and Mark Twain.

List of Plaques :-

Thea Astley, 
Faith Bandler, C. E. W. Bean, Christopher Brennan, 
Peter Carey, Joseph Conrad, Peter Corris, 
Eleanor Dark, Charles Darwin , C. J. Dennis,
Arthur Conan Doyle, 
Umberto Eco, 
Miles Franklin, 
May Gibbs, Mary Gilmore, Germaine Greer, 
Xavier Herbert, Dorothy Hewett,  A. D. Hope,
Robert Hughes, Barry Humphries,
Clive James, George Johnston, 
Thomas Keneally, Rudyard Kipling,
Ray Lawler, D. H. Lawrence, Henry Lawson,
Jack London, 
Dorothea Mackellar, David Malouf, James A. Michener, 
Oodgeroo Noonuccal, 
Ruth Park, A. B. "Banjo" Paterson,
Henry Handel Richardson, 
Nevil Shute, Kenneth Slessor, Christina Stead,
Robert Louis Stevenson, Douglas Stewart,
Kylie Tennant, Anthony Trollope, Ethel Turner, 
Mark Twain, 
Morris West, Patrick White, David Williamson,
Judith Wright   


Address:Circular Quay, West Circular Quay to Opera House Forecourt, Sydney, 2000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.859747
Long: 151.212847
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Culture
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au