No. 13 (City of Darwin) SquadronPrint Page Print this page

Plaque Location
Plaque Location

Photographs supplied by Glen Yeomans

The plaque commemorates the personnel who served in the No.13 (City of Darwin) Squadron, Royal Australian Air Force (R.A.A.F.) during World War Two.

The plaque location is indicated by the red poppy in the second image. 

No. 13 (City of Darwin) Squadron saw combat during World War Two as a bomber and maritime patrol squadron and is currently active as a mixed regular and reserve RAAF unit located in Darwin, fulfilling both operational support and training duties.

No. 13 Squadron moved to Cooktown, north-eastern Queensland, in late May 1944 before moving again to Gove, Northern Territory, in August; from there it mainly carried out anti-submarine and escort patrols, though it also mounted a small number of bombing raids against the eastern islands of the Netherland East Indies (NEI). In late June 1945, the squadron moved to Morotai in the NEI and, soon after the end of the war, to Labuan in British North Borneo. From Labuan the squadron operated in the transport role and ferried ex-prisoners of war and other personnel back to Australia before being disbanded on 11 January 1946. Casualties during the war amounted to 87 personnel killed.

No. 13 Squadron was re-formed as a non-flying Active Reserve squadron located at RAAF Base Darwin on 1 July 1989; later that month it was conferred with the title "No. 13 (City of Darwin) Squadron". On 31 May 1990, the squadron was officially presented the Presidential Unit Citation it had been awarded in 1942.



Address:Fairbairn & Limestone Avenues, Australian War Memorial Sculpture Garden, Campbell, 2612
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.279626
Long: 149.147118
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Conflict
Actual Event Start Date:01-June-1940
Actual Event End Date:11-January-1946


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 19th February, 2005
Front Inscription

No. 13 (City of Darwin) Squadron

No. 13 Squadron RAAF was formed on 1 June 1940 and disbanded on 11 January 1946.  It was reformed as an active reserve squadron on 1 July 1989.  Since its formation, the men and women of the squadron have served the nation with distinction and honour.

The squadron received a US Presidential Unit Citation for outstanding performance of duties in action between 13 April and 25 August 1942.

This plaque is dedicated to the members of the squadron who gave their lives as the ultimate sacrifice for their country.

Canberra  Cooktown  Daly Waters  Darwin  Gove  Hughes  
Labuan  Laha  Morotai  Namlea  Truscott 


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design