Diesel Electric Silver JubileePrint Page Print this page

A plaque commemorates twenty-five years of diesel - electric main line locomotive power.

The B class were the first mainline diesel locomotives built for the  Victorian Railways. The design was based on the successful Electro-Motive Diesel F-Unit locomotives with the distinctive bulldog nose. They were unusual in having a streamlined drivers cab at each end. The order was placed in 1951 and the first locomotive was delivered on 14 July 1952.


Address:Spencer Street, Southern Cross Station, Melbourne, 3000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.818946
Long: 144.953799
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Technology
Actual Event Start Date:14-July-1952
Actual Event End Date:14-July-1977


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 14th July, 1977
Front Inscription

This plaque was unveiled on July 14 1977 by Mr A. C. Ahlston, Chief Mechanical Engineer, 1933 - 1955, on arrival of locomotive B 60 to commemorate 25 years of Diesel - Electric main line motive power

Source: RHSV
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design