Contributors to rt health Print Page Print this page

Photographs supplied by Russell Byers

The plaque commemorates members and staff who have contributed to the rt health since 1889. It is the health fund for the rail, transport, electrical and energy industries. The fund merged with HCF in 2021.

In 1889, a group of railway employees got together to form a cooperative. Each person regularly contributed a small amount of money to a fund that would be used to help out any of the group members if they needed a hand with expenses related to illness or injury. Incredibly, that cooperative went on to form Australia's first registered health fund, now known as rt health fund.

Note: Thallon House, dedicated in 2012, was named in honour of James Forsayth Thallon, former Queensland Commissioner of Railways from 1902  to 1911. 



Address:97 Edward Street, Thallon House, Brisbane, 4000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -27.470247
Long: 153.029211
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Technology
Approx. Event Start Date:1889


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Wednesday 23rd May, 2012
Front Inscription


Dedicated On 23 May 2012
Named In Honour Of James Forsayth Thallon, 
Commissioner Of Railways 1902 - 1911.

Dedicated To The Members And Staff Who Have
Contributed To RT Health Fund Since 1889.


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au