150th Anniversary of the Bank of New South WalesPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams

The plaque commemorates the 150th anniversary of the Bank of New South Wales which is now known as Westpac. The bank was founded at this site in 1817.

Aware of the need to have a stable financial institution to underpin the emerging economy, in February 1817 Governor Macquarie signed a charter of incorporation which establish the Bank of New South Wales. This was Australia's first financial institution – and it still operates today, although with a changed name.

It leased premises in Macquarie Place  Sydney, from Mary Reibey an ex-convict turned businesswoman, and opened for business on 8 April 1817. By 1822 the bank had moved to more salubrious premises in George Street.


Address:341 George Street, Westpac Bank, Sydney, 2000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.867138
Long: 151.207015
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Technology


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1967
Front Inscription

     This Plaque Was Unveiled By
His Excellency The Governor Of New South Wales
Sir Roden Cutler, V.C., K.C.M.G., C.B.E., K. St.J.
          In Commemoration Of
150 Years Of Continuous Banking Service By
         Australia`s First Bank
1817  Bank Of New South Wales  1967


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au