Margaret CourtPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders

The bust commemorates tennis player, Margaret Court who in 1970, became the first woman during the open era  (and the second woman in history) to win the singles Grand Slam (all four major tournaments in the same calendar year).

She won a record 24 of those titles (11 in the Open era), a record which still stands.  She also won 19 women's doubles and 21 mixed doubles titles, giving her a record 64 major titles overall. She is the only woman to win the mixed doubles Grand Slam, which she accomplished twice. Her all surfaces (hard, clay, grass and carpet) singles career winning percentage of 91.68% (1180–107) is one of the best of all time.

Her open era singles career winning percentage of 91.37% (593–56) is unequalled, as is her open era winning percentage of 91.7% (11–1) in Grand Slam finals.  Her win-loss performance in all Grand Slam singles tournaments was 90.12% (210–23). She was 95.31% (61–3) at the Australian Open, 90.38% (47–5) at the French Open, 85.10% (51–9) at Wimbledon and 89.47% (51–6) at the US Open.

She is one of only six tennis players to ever win a multiple slam sets in two disciplines, matching Roy Emerson, Martina Navratilova, Frank Sedgman, Doris Hart and Serena Williams.  However she is the only one in tennis history to complete a multiple slam set, twice, in all three disciplines: singles, women's doubles and mixed doubles.

Having grown up as a Roman Catholic, she became associated with Pentecostalism in the 1970s and became a Pentecostal Christian minister in 1991. She later founded the Margaret Court Ministries.


Address:Olympic Boulevard & Batman Avenue, Garden Square, Melbourne Park, Melbourne, 3000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.820301
Long: 144.978865
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Sculpture
Monument Theme:People
Artist:Barbara McLean


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1993
Front Inscription

Margaret Court

Singles Grand Slam : 1970
Winner of 62 Grand Slam titles

Singles Champion of:
Australia 1960-1966, 1969-1971, 1973
France 1962, 1964, 1969, 1970, 1973
Wimbledon 1963, 1965, 1970
USA 1962, 1965, 1969, 1970, 1973

Federation Cup:
1963, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969, 1971

Federation Cup victories (as player) : 1964,1965, 1968, 1971

Federation Cup Captain :
1965, 1968, 1971

Federation Cup victories (as captain) : 1965, 1968, 1971

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design