Mary Lee Print Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Stephen Warren

The plaque commemorates Mary Lee (1821 - 1909), Secretary and leader of the Women's Suffrage League of South Australia. 

Mary Lee became secretary of the Women`s Suffrage League of South Australia in 1888. She served with the Female Refuge Ladies' Committee, the Distressed Women & Children's Committee and the Adelaide Sick Poor Fund, and was secretary of the Working Women`s Trades Union. Through her work in the league, initially as co-secretary and soon as secretary, Mary Lee played a major part in South Australian political history. She died in 1909.

In 1994, to mark the centenary of the enfranchisement of women in South Australia she was accorded recognition as a national hero. A special proof coin was issued by the mint in her honour. Her grave at the Walkerville Wesleyan Cemetery was restored by the Payneham Women`s Suffrage Centennial Committee.


Address:Payneham Road & Portrush Road, Royston Park, 5000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.896971
Long: 138.638913
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:People


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1994
Front Inscription

Mary Lee 1821 - 1909

Founder of Women`s Suffrage League on July 20th 1888.

Its aim was simply to secure equal voting rights for women.

On December 19th 1894 South Australian women became the first in the world to gain full democratic rights to vote and stand for Parliament

Restoration of grave site at Walkerville Cemetery initiated by the Payneham Women`s Suffrage Centennial Committee



Source: MA, ADB
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design