Dr James & Mary MaynePrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth

The Mayne Medical School commemorates Dr James O`Neil Mayne and Mary Emelia Mayne, benefactors of the University of Queensland.

On the deaths of brother and sister Dr James O'Neil Mayne (1939) and Mary Emilia Mayne (1940), their substantial estates were bequeathed to the Medical School. The name Mayne Medical School is a recognition of these bequests which continue to fund the medical school to this day through assets such as the Brisbane Arcade. 

James and Mary Emelia Mayne became the principal benefactors of the University of Queensland giving it 280 hectares of land at Moggill for agricultural education in 1923. After negotiations beginning in 1926, they paid a further £63,000 to resume over 281 hectares at St Lucia. This site became the current University of Queensland campus.


Address:288 Herston Road, Mayne Medical School, Herston, 4029
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -27.448451
Long: 153.023872
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:People


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Monday 9th December, 1996
Front Inscription

The University of Queensland

Mayne Medical School

Named in honour of University benefactors 

Dr James O`Neil Mayne and Mary Emelia Mayne

The Mayne Bequest Fund provides valuable support for medical research and teaching
9 December, 1996

Chancellor the Hon. Sir Llewellyn Edwards, AC  MB BS Hon. Lld Q`ld., FRACMA

Vice-Chancellor Professor John Hay  BA W Aust., MA Camb., PhD W. Aust., Hon.Litt.D. Deakin, FACE



Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design