Sir Rupert HamerPrint Page Print this page

Rupert Hamer memorial
Rupert Hamer memorial
Photographs supplied by Kent Watson

The sculpture commemorates the former Premier of Victoria, Sir Ruper Hamer (1916 - 2004). 

Former Premier, Jeff Kennett, was responsible for the series of four Victorian Premier statues outside 1 Treasury Place. The statues being of John Cain Jr, Rupert Hamer, Henry Bolte and Albert Dunstan who were all post-World War Two former Victorian Premiers and had all served more than 3,000 days in office. Whilst in office Jeff Kennett chose the magical number of 3,000 (for no obvious reason) to be reached before any Victorian Premier would be rewarded with a bronze statue in his or her likeness

Sir Rupert Hamer was a progressive Liberal credited with modernising his party and Victorian politics during nine years as premier. A former Rat of Tobruk who fought in some of the great battles of World War Two, Sir Rupert entered Parliament in 1958, became a minister in 1962 and succeeded Sir Henry Bolte as premier in 1972.

He never lost an election before retiring in 1981.


Address:Spring Street, Treasury Gardens, East Melbourne, 3002
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.813443
Long: 144.975066
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Sculpture
Monument Theme:People
Sub-Theme:Government - State
Approx. Event Start Date:1972
Approx. Event End Date:1981
Artist:Peter Corlett (Melbourne, VIC)
Monument Manufacturer:Bronze - Meridian Foundry


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1999
Front Inscription

The Hon Sir Rupert Hamer AC, KCMG, ED, MP
Premier of Victoria
1972 - 1981

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au