John Curtin & Ben ChifleyPrint Page Print this page

John Curtin & Ben Chifley : 01-July-2012
John Curtin & Ben Chifley : 01-July-2012

Photographs supplied by Tim Carroll

The sculpture commemorates John Curtin and Ben Chifley who were the 14th and 16th Prime Ministers of Australia respectively. The sculpture recreates a photograph of Curtin and Chifley who walked along this route from the Kurrajong Hotel where they usually stayed while Parliament was sitting, to the Old Parliament House. Curtin and Chifley were strong supporters of the development of Canberra as the nation's capital. 

John Curtin was Prime Minister when the Australian mainland came under direct military threat during the Japanese advance in World War Two.  

The Chifley Government was responsible for the post-war immigration scheme, the establishment of Australian citizenship in 1949, the Snowy Mountains Scheme, overseeing the creation of airlines Qantas and Trans Australia Airways (TAA), and founding the Australian Security Intelligence Organisation



Address:Walpole Crescent, Ryrie Park, Parkes, 2600
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.304476
Long: 149.132509
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Sculpture
Monument Theme:People
Sub-Theme:Government - Federal
Artist:Peter Corlett (Melbourne, VIC)
Monument Manufacturer:Meridian Foundry


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Friday 16th September, 2011
Front Inscription

Plaque :

Peter Corlett OAM
Born 1944

Prime Minister John Curtin and Treasurer, Ben Chifley, ca 1945
Bronze, cast by Meridian Foundry, 2011

This sculpture recreates an iconic photograph of John Curtin ( 1885-1945), Australia's fourteenth Prime Minister (1941-45), and Treasurer Joseph Benedict Chifley (1885-1951), who would become Australia's sixteenth Prime Minister (1945-1949). Curtin and Chifley routinely walked along this route to the (old) Parliament House from the nearby Kurrajong Hotel- where Labor Members of Parliament generally stayed, while Parliament was sitting. Curtin and Chifley are 'two of Australia's most respected Prime Ministers and they were strong supporters of the development of Canberra as the nation's capital. 

Commissioned by the ACT Government
Launched on the 16 September 2011 by the Hon Julia Gillard MP.  Prime Minister of Australia



Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au