Sir John GortonPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Sandra Brown
The bust commemorates former Australian Prime Minister Sir John Gorton. 

Sir John Grey Gorton GCMG, AC,CH (9 September 1911 – 19 May 2002) was the 19th Prime Minister of Australia and long serving minister in the governments of Sir Robert Menzies, Harold Holt, Sir John McEwen and Sir William McMahon. 

Gorton became Prime Minister after being elected Leader of the Liberal Party of Australia, following the disappearance of Harold Holt in December 1967 while swimming. Gorton assumed the prime ministership while still a member of the Australian Senate, the only Prime Minister to have done so. Due to the Westminster tradition of Prime Ministers being a member of the Australian House of Representatives, Gorton stood for and won Holt's now vacant and ultra-safe seat of Higgins at the subsequent by-election by an increased margin.

Gorton would go on to lead the Liberal-Country Coalition Government to their twelfth straight win at the  1969 Australian federal election. After long-term internal bickering and power shifting within the governing Liberal Party, Gorton resigned the party leadership and was succeeded by his former treasurer, William McMahon, in March 1971.


Address:1255 High Street, Northbrook (Art) Garden behind Malvern Library, Malvern , 3144
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.856476
Long: 145.032073
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Sculpture
Monument Theme:People
Sub-Theme:Government - Federal
Artist:Lis Johnson (Barkers Creek, VIC)


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Friday 2nd September, 2005
Front Inscription

The Rt. Hon. Sir John Gorton GCMG AC CH
Prime Minister of Australia
1968 ~ 1971
Member for Higgins 
1968 ~ 1975

Dedicated by the Hon. Peter Costello MP
Federal Treasurer and Member for Higgins

2 September 2005

Sculptor Lis Johnson

Statue donated by Mr David Mandie AM OBE

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au