Charles SturtPrint Page Print this page

Charles Sturt
Charles Sturt

Photographs supplied by Kent Watson

The statue commemorates explorer Captain Charles Sturt. The inscriptions on the statue detail his main exploring expeditions and members of his party. 

Charles Napier Sturt (28 April 1795 – 16 June 1869) was a British explorer of Australia, and part of the European exploration of Australia. He led several expeditions into the interior of the continent, starting from both Sydney and later from Adelaide. His expeditions traced several of the westward-flowing rivers, establishing that they all merged into the Murray River. He was searching to determine if there was an "inland sea".

The statue to be erected to the memory of Captain Charles Sturt, the explorer, was delivered at the site early on Monday morning, and was unpacked by the contractor for the erection of the pedestal (Mr. George E. Morgan), in the presence of Messrs. C. E. Owen Smyth, I.S.O., A. E. Simpson (chief draughtsman), and Hon. D. J. Gordon, M.L.C, hon. secretary to the Sturt Fund. During the day the statue was fixed in position. At a meeting of the committee during the day arrangements wore completed for the unveiling ceremony to take place at noon an Thursday next. The Governor has consented to perform the ceremony.
Daily Herald (Adelaide, SA), 19 December 1916.


Address:Victoria Square, Adelaide, 5000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.927349
Long: 138.59945
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Sculpture
Monument Theme:People


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 21st December, 1916
Front Inscription

Captain Charles Sturt


Born April 28th 1795 - Died June 16th 1869

Left Side Inscription

Members of the Party 1829.

Charles Sturt Leader, George Macleay Second, Robert Harris, John Harris, Fraser, Clayton, Hopkinson, Mulholland, MacNamee

Back Inscription

Main exploring expeditions.

1828 - 9  Macquarie, Darling, Castlereagh, Bogan.

1829 - 30 Murrumbidgee, Lachlan, Murray, Lake Alexandrina.

1844 - 46 Central Australia.

Right Side Inscription

Members of Party 1844 - 46

Charles Sturt leader, James Poole second, John Harris Browne surgeon, John McDouall Stuart draughtsman, Louis Piesse storekeeper, Daniel G Brock collector, Robert Flood, Joseph Cowley, George Davenport, James Lewis, David Morgan, Hugh Foulkes, John Jones, Richard Turpin, John Mack, John Sullivan, John Kirby

Source: MA,SAM,ADB
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design