Campbelltown ProclamationPrint Page Print this page

18-March-2016 (Sandra Brown)
18-March-2016 (Sandra Brown)

Photographs supplied by Tim Carroll / Sandra Brown

Watering trough and hitching post erected by James Bocking, Mayor to commemorate the proclamation of the Municipality of Campbelltown in 1882.

The area of Campbelltown was first visited by Governor Hunter in 1795, and was explored by Governor Lachlan Macquarie in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. On 1 December 1820, Governor Macquarie named the area Campbell Town in honour of his wife’s maiden name, with the area later being known simply as Campbelltown.

In 1882, the area was officially proclaimed as the Municipal District of Campbelltown by the Governor of NSW. Nine Aldermen were elected, with John Ahearn elected the first Mayor of Campbelltown.

The Municipal District of Ingleburn was proclaimed in 1896.

In 1948 Campbelltown and Ingleburn were joined into one common council (including part of the Nepean Shire) and became known as the Amalgamated Municipality of Campbelltown.




Address:Queen Street, Civic Centre, Campbelltown, 2560
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.063789
Long: 150.816458
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Technology
Monument Theme:Landscape
Approx. Event Start Date:1882
Approx. Event End Date:1882


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1890
Front Inscription


Source: H,MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design