Jubilee 150Print Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Stephen Warren
The renovation of the Prospect Town Hall commemorates the South Australian Jubilee Year in 1986. 1986 marked the 150th anniversary of the European colonisation of South Australia.

The British Province of South Australia was established by the South Australia Act 1834 in August 1834, and the South Australian Company formed on 9 October 1835 to fulfil the purposes of the Act by forming a new colony financed by land sales. The first settlers arrived on Kangaroo Island in July 1836, with all of the ships later sailing north soon afterwards to anchor in Holdfast Bay on the advice of Surveyor-General, Colonel William Light. The Proclamation of the new Province by Governor Hindmarsh at Glenelg took place on 28 December 1836.


Address:Prospect Road & Vine Street, Prospect Town Hall, Prospect, 5082
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.886338
Long: 138.593755
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Landscape
Actual Event Start Date:
Approx. Event Start Date:1836
Actual Event End Date:
Approx. Event End Date:1986


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 12th October, 1986
Front Inscription

Plaque :

Prospect Town Hall

The renovation of this building as a Jubilee 150 project was opened by Mayor Jennifer Strickland

20th September 1986


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design