Captain Charles Sturt Print Page Print this page

The memorial commemorates Charles Sturt who camped at Stephen`s Creek in 1844 and 1845.

BROKEN HILL October 15. At 4 p.m. tomorrow the memorial to Captain Charles Sturt, recently erected at Stephen's Creek, will be unveiled and presented to the public of Broken Hill and Australia. A handsome bronze tablet, suitably inscribed, has been built into a cairn of rough stones, and, standing at the entrance to the main drive of the pumping station, will attract the attention of all who visit this place. It should stand as a permanent memorial to Sturt, who camped at this spot 93 years ago.
The Advertiser (Adelaide, SA),  16 October 1937.


Address:Barrier Highway, Stephens Creek Pumping Station, 16 kilometres north-east of Broken Hill, Broken Hill, 2880
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -31.880112
Long: 141.594151
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:People
Approx. Event Start Date:1844
Approx. Event End Date:1845


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 16th October, 1937
Front Inscription

'The Pass'

Captain Charles Sturt camped here 

Oct    24        1844
Nov 4 - 22     1844
Dec 17 - 18   1845

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design