Hume & Hovell ExpeditionPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams

The monument was erected by the Royal Australian Historical Society to commemorate the Hume and Hovell Expedition of 1824. The monument was erected at the site of the home of Hamilton Hume and was unveiled during the centenary year of the expedition. Stone recovered from the ruins of Hamilton Hume’s house at Brookdale Farm (adjoining the monument) is said to have been used in the monument.

Hamilton Hume was born in Parramatta, New South Wales on 18 June 1797. He had a good knowledge of bushcraft, and by the age of 17 was exploring, first to the Berrima district (between Sydney and Canberra), then with Surveyor Meehan to the Goulburn Plains and Lake Bathurst. Over the next few years he was a member of several exploring parties, to Yass Plains and the tablelands near Braidwood. He was the first Australian born explorer. In 1824, Governor Brisbane asked Hume to join forces with an English sea captain, William Hovell, to go from Lake George to the Spencer Gulf (in what is now South Australia). Hovell was older than Hume, with little bush experience, but he was a good navigator.

There was a unique gathering at Appin on Saturday at the ruins of the home of Hamilton Hume, explorer, who a hundred years previously set out with Hovell on his memorable expedition to Port Phillip. The remnants of his home consist of stones, overrun with blackberries and creepers. The hearth and chimney were intact. Mr. Ley, the Minister of Justice, unveiled the tablet on the pedestal on the site which recorded that the home had been the starting point of the expedition of Hume and Hovell to Port Phillip Bay,on 2nd October, 1824. 
The Age (Melbourne, Vic.),  6 October 1924.


Address:Appin Road, 4 kilometres north of Appin, Appin, 2560
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.152463
Long: 150.792561
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Landscape
Actual Event Start Date:02-October-1824


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 4th October, 1924
Front Inscription

To commemorate the Hume and Hovell Expedition

Site of the home of Hamilton Hume starting point of the Expedition to Port Phillip

October 2, 1824.



Left Side Inscription

Heritage Item of Campbelltown

Hume Monument 

Campbelltown City Council

Source: H,MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design