www.monumentaustralia.org.au

Sir Paul Edmund de Strzelecki ExpeditionPrint Page Print this page

04-April-2022
04-April-2022

Photographs supplied by Kosciuszko Heritage Inc (Andrzej Kozek)

The plaque commemorates the exploration of Count Paul Strzelecki who passed through the area in 1840. 

In 1839 Strzelecki set out on an expedition into the Australian Alps and explored the Snowy Mountains with James Macarthur, James Riley and two Aboriginal guides: Charlie Tarra and Jackey. In 1840 he climbed the highest peak on mainland Australia and named it Mount Kosciusko, to honour Tadeusz Kosciusko, one of the national heroes of Poland and a hero of the American Revolutionary War, and the Kosciuszko Insurrection in Poland in 1794.

On March 9 1840, the expedition left Welaregang Station aiming to explore pasture prospects and reach the highest peak of the Snowy Mountains.  Having passed Guises Station, they camped at the Nowong (Bringenbrong) Ford on the Murray River and the next day they reached Black Creek near Geehi Walls where Riley was left with packhorses.  On March 11 ,the remaining party reached lower parts of Hannels Spur.

On March 12, having left the guides and supplies near Byatts Camp, Strzelecki and Macarthur reached the peak of Mt Townsend. Here, Strzelecki noted that the adjacent peak was higher. In the presence of Macarthur, he named it in honour of Tadeusz Kosciuszko and then continued to scale it alone.

On March 13, all four returned to the camp at Black Creek, and on the next day, Strzelecki spent the day by taking notes and making computations.  On March 15, the expedition commenced the journey through Gippsland.

After passing the La Trobe River it was found necessary to abandon the horses and all the specimens that had been collected, and try to reach Western Port. For 22 days they were on the edge of starvation, and were ultimately saved by the knowledge and hunting ability of their guide Charlie, who caught native animals for them to eat. The party, practically exhausted, arrived at Western Port on 12 May 1840 and reached Melbourne on 28 May.

The photograph of the plaque shows Colonel Mark and Mrs Honor Auchinleck, Dr Ernestyna Skurjat-Kozek, President of Kosciuszko Heritage Inc., Aunty Iris White, Ambassador Michal Kolodziejski, and two Ngarigo-Monaro ladies, : Tanaya Edwards and Sally Lavallee.

 


 

Location

Address:Alpine Way, Geehi Flats Campground, Kosciuszko National Park, Geehi, 2642
State:NSW
Area:AUS
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -36.379716
Long: 148.178819
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map

Details

Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Landscape
Sub-Theme:Exploration
Actual Event Start Date:10-March-1840
Actual Event End Date:15-March-1840
Link:https://www.kosciuszkoheritage.com/…

Dedication

Actual Monument Dedication Date:Monday 4th April, 2022
Front Inscription

Strzelecki : Geehi to Kosciusko 1840

March 9 1840 – Strzelecki left Welaregang Station accompanied by James Macarthur, James Riley and two Aboriginal Guides Jackey and Charlie Tarra.  The team aimed to explore pasture prospects and reach the highest peak of the Snowy Mountains.

Having passed Guises Station, they camped at the Nowong (Bringenbrong) Ford on the Murray River and the next day they reached Black Creek near Geehi Walls where Riley was left with packhorses.

March 11 – the remaining party reached lower parts of Hannels Spur.

March 12 – having left the guides and supplies near Byatts Camp, Strzelecki and Macarthur reached the peak of Mt Townsend. Here, Strzelecki noted that the adjacent peak was higher. In the presence of Macarthur, he named it in honour of Tadeusz Kosciuszko and then continued to scale it alone.

Tadeusz Kosciuszko was a champion of liberty and equal rights, a hero of the American Revolutionary War and the Kosciuszko Insurrection in Poland in 1794.

March 13 – all four returned to the camp at Black Creek.

March 14th – Strzelecki spent the day by taking notes and making computations.

March 15 – the team continued its major expedition to Gippsland.

Plaque supplied by Kosciuszko Heritage Inc. 2022

Kosciuszko Heritage Inc.  and the Polish community acknowledge the traditional owners of the land here  and at Mt Kosciuszko. We pay our respect to Elders past, present and emerging.

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design