Charles Sturt Expedition Print Page Print this page

07-April-2014 (Chris McLaughlin)
07-April-2014 (Chris McLaughlin)

Photographs supplied by Chris McLaughlin / Bryan Cole
The monument commemorates the centenary of Captain Charles Sturt and the members of the Central Australian Exploring Expedition of 1844.

On August 10, 1844, Sturt's carefully selected and well-equipped expedition set out from Adelaide to explore the hitherto unknown interior of Australia. This year places along the route from Adelaide to beyond the Queensland border are planning to commemorate the centenary of that great expedition, and to honor the memory of the first white men to pass their district.

The president of the S.A. branch of the  Royal Geographical Society (Mr. Hambidge), accompanied by Mrs. Hambidge and a number of fellow members, will leave Adelaide on a pilgrimage to participate in the unveiling ceremonies between Gawler and Renmark. The places visited will be: Gawler, Daveyston, Light Pass, Nuriootpa, Truro, Angaston, Koonunga, Morgan, Barmera and Renmark.
Barrier Miner (Broken Hill, NSW), 11 August 1944.


Address:Murray Street & Penrice Road, Angaston, 5353
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.5005
Long: 139.044898
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Landscape
Actual Event Start Date:16-August-1844
Actual Event End Date:17-August-1844


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1944
Front Inscription

Captain Charles Sturt 

Central Australian Exploring Expedition 

The members of the dray party passed through this District 16 - 17 August, 1844 and were the guests of J. H. Angas

Unveiled 1944

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design