Fallen Police OfficersPrint Page Print this page

Fallen Police Officers Plaques : April 2014
Fallen Police Officers Plaques : April 2014

Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams

The plaques commemorate eight officers from Sutherlands Local Area Command who were killed in the line of duty. The names of the men and details of how they died hang on plaques in the foyer of the station. The plaques were unveiled during the 150th anniversary of policing in New South Wales. 

The plaques commemorate :-

Constable Colin Roy                         1939 - 1967
Detective Constable Dennis Ware      1937 - 1970
Constable Garnet Mortley                 1928 - 1953
Corporal Stephen Kirk & 
Trooper Luke Dunn              12 & 21 November 1845
Constable Kenneth Short                  1962 - 1990 
Senior Constable Neville Parker         1937 - 1972   
Probationary Constable Warren Burns 1943 -1968           



Address:Flora Street, Sutherland Police Station, Sutherland, 2232
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.032356
Long: 151.062717
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 17th May, 2012
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au