Second Century of Self-GovernmentPrint Page Print this page

Second Centenary of Self-Government : 22-October-2011
Second Centenary of Self-Government : 22-October-2011

Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders

A red gum was planted in 1951 to commemorate the beginning of the second century of self government in Victoria.

In 1850, the British Government passed the Australian Colonies Government Act which allowed the separation of Victoria and the Moreton Bay settlement from New South Wales and granted all colonies, including New South Wales, Van Diemen's Land, South Australia and Western Australia, the right to self-government.


Address:Alexandra Avenue & Anderson Street, Botanic Gardens, Melbourne, 3000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.828821
Long: 144.984226
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Tree
Monument Theme:Government


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 15th November, 1951
Front Inscription

Eucalyptus camaldulensis  
River Red Gum

Planted by Sir Dallas Brooks Governor of Victoria to commemorate the beginning of the second century of self-government in Victoria, and eventually to replace the first `Separation Tree`.

15th November 1951

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au