First Unfurling of the Northern Territory FlagPrint Page Print this page

24-February-2019 (Russell Byers)
24-February-2019 (Russell Byers)
Photographs supplied by Russell Byers / Stephen Warren

The plaque commemorates the first unfurling of the Northern Territory flag celebrating the granting of self-government in July 1978.

The Government of the Northern Territory of Australia, also referred to as the Northern Territory Government, is the Australian territorial democratic administrative authority of the Northern Territory. The Government of Northern Territory was formed in 1978 with the granting of self-government to the Territory. The Northern Territory is a territory of the Commonwealth of Australian, and the Constitution of Australia and Commonwealth law regulates its relationship with the Commonwealth.

Under the Australian Constitution, the Commonwealth has full legislative power, if it chooses to exercise it, over the Northern Territory, and has devolved self-government to the Territory. The Northern Territory legislature does not have the legislative independence of the Australian states but has power in all matters not in conflict with the Constitution and applicable Commonwealth laws, but subject to a Commonwealth veto.


Address:Esplanade, Darwin Cenotaph, Bicentennial Park, Darwin, 0800
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -12.466667
Long: 130.84
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 1st July, 1978
Front Inscription

This plaque commemorates the first unfurling of the Northern Territory flag, on this site, by the Chief Minister the Hon. Paul Everingham, M.L.A. 

Celebrating the granting of self - government,

1st July 1978.

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au