First Nunawading District Roads BoardPrint Page Print this page

First Nunawading District Roads Board : 18-November-2011
First Nunawading District Roads Board : 18-November-2011
Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders

The plaque commemorates the members of the first Nunawading District Roads Board.



Address:1022 Whitehorse Road, Box Hill Town Hall, Box Hill, 3128
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.819206
Long: 145.126622
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government


Front Inscription

City of Box Hill

This panel was erected to commemorate the members of the first Nunawading District Roads Board.

William Yeomans, Chairman

Joseph Aspinall        Patrick Griffin  
Nathaniel Berry        David Houston  
William Ellingworth   Thomas Lavidge  
Denis Delaney          Patrick Trainor

J. Lowrey, Secretary and engineer

The first meeting of the Board was held at the White Horse Hotel at the corner of Whitehorse Road and Elgar Road, Box Hill in August 1857.

The Nunawading District Roads Board was proclaimed the Shire of Nunawading on 9th May 1872.  The Shire was proclaimed the Borough of Box Hill on 23rd December 1925 and the Borough declared a city on 28th April 1927.


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design