First Official Greater Geelong Council MeetingPrint Page Print this page

First Greater Geelong Council Meeting : 28-August-2011
First Greater Geelong Council Meeting : 28-August-2011
Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders

Plaque commemorates the first official meeting of the Greater Geelong City Council.

Victoria's Local Government reform began in 1993 when the State Government introduced legislation to combine more than 200 small local Councils into 78 larger Councils (now 79). Geelong was the first region to go through amalgamation. Six local Councils and part of a seventh (Barrabool) were formed into one large municipality called the City of Greater Geelong (18 May 1993).


Address:Gheringhap Street, City Hall, Geelong, 3220
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -38.147275
Long: 144.357625
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:30-March-1995
Actual Event End Date:30-March-1995


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1995
Front Inscription

Greater Geelong City Council

This Plaque Commemorates The First Official Meeting Of The Greater Geelong City Council Consisting Of The Former Municipalities City Of Geelong, City Of Geelong West, City Of Newtown, City Of South Barwon, Shire Of Corio And Bellarine Rural City Council On 30 March 1995.

[ Names of Councillors ]


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design