Centenary of Local GovernmentPrint Page Print this page

Photographs supplied by Chris McLaughlin

The plaque commemorates the centenary of local government of the Jamestown Corporation.

Settlers were granted local government in 1875 when the District Council of Belalie was gazetted in November of that year. Its first meeting was held at the Jamestown Hotel when John Chapman was elected Chairman and William Goodes, Samuel Pearce, Joseph Thyer, and Albert Trilling councillors. It was from these early beginnings that resulted in the formation in July 1878 of the Jamestown Corporation.

The Corporate Town of Jamestown was proclaimed on 25 July 1878, severing the seven-year old settlement of Jamestown from the surrounding District Council of Belalie. The first mayor was John Cockburn, later Premier of South Australia, with George Hingston Lake as town clerk. Under the new council, it instituted a tree-planting program from 1879, reportedly the first town in rural South Australia to do so.


Address:73 Ayr Street, Jamestown Memorial Hall, Jamestown, 5491
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.205654
Long: 138.603868
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:25-July-1878
Actual Event End Date:25-July-1978


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1978
Front Inscription

This plaque commemorates the centenary of Local Government of the Corporation of the Town of Jamestown.

1878 - 1978

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design