100 Years of Local Government in North SydneyPrint Page Print this page

Photographs supplied by Heather Stevens

The plaque commemorates 100 years of local government in North Sydney from 1867 to 1967. The plaque contains a list of the wards and their councils as well as senior staff of the Council.

The first name used by European settlers was Hunterhill, named after a property owned by Thomas Muir of Huntershill (1765-1799), a Scottish political reformer. He purchased land in 1794 near the location where the north pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge is now located, and built a house which he named after his childhood home. This area north to Gore Hill became known as St Leonards, The township of St Leonards was laid out in 1836 in what is now North Sydney, bounded by what is now Miller, Walker, Lavender and Berry Streets. The municipality of St Leonards was proclaimed in 1867. 


Address:Miller & McLaren Streets, North Sydney Council Civic Centre, North Sydney, 2060
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.834587
Long: 151.207306
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Approx. Event Start Date:1867
Approx. Event End Date:1967


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Monday 17th July, 1967
Front Inscription

1867    1967

This plaque commemorating one hundred years of Local Government in North Sydney was unveiled on Monday 17 July 1967 by the Honourable P. H. Morton M.L.A. Minister for Local Government and Highways

Mayor  Ald. I. S. Haviland

Municipality of North Sydney

[ List of Wards ] 

Senior Staff
[ Names ] 


Source: MA,H
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au