Final Sitting of District Council of HallettPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Stephen Warren

The plaque commemorates the final sitting of the District Council of Hallett in February 1997.

The District Council of Hallett was a local government area in South Australia from 1877 to 1997. The council was proclaimed on 13 September 1877 representing the Hundred of Hallett, establishing a council of eight members divided into four wards (Willogoleech, Cartarpo, Ulooloo and Banbury). It absorbed the neighbouring District Council of Terowie on 1 May 1935. On 21 May 1935, it gained a portion of the Anne and Ayers wards of the abolished District Council of Booborowie, which formed the new Willalo Ward; it also added the Cappeedee Ward at this time.The changes resulted in a seven-ward system from 1935, with one councillor from each of the Banbury, Cappeedee, Hallett, Terowie, Terowie Township, Whyte and Willalo Wards

It existed until 23 January 1997, when it merged with the District Council of Burra Burra, the District Council of Eudunda, and the District Council of Robertstown to create the Regional Council of Goyder.



Address:71 Alfred Street, Hallett Hall, Hallett, 5419
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.410866
Long: 138.892675
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:02-February-1997
Actual Event End Date:02-February-1997


Front Inscription

This plaque commemorates the final sitting of the District Council of Hallett
7th May, 1935 - 2nd February, 1997

Last serving members

Cr. S. P . Mattey    Mr. P. I. Boaden
Chairman               Chief Executive Officer

Cr. I. F. Reid (Deputy Chairman)   Cr. B. D. Brooks
Cr. M. I. Robinson                         Cr. L. J. Sullivan
Cr. P E. Harvey                             Cr. D. W. Hill


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design