www.monumentaustralia.org.au

Centenary of Urangan PierPrint Page Print this page

07-September-2018 (Peter Williams)
07-September-2018 (Peter Williams)

Photographs supplied by Peter Williams / John Huth

The plaque commemorates the centenary of the Urangan Pier from 1917 to 2017. 

Urangan Pier is a former deep-water, cargo-handling facility originally built to facilitate the export of sugar, timber and coal. The pier, served by the extension of the railway line from Pialba, was used for the transfer of cargo between rail and ships. It was built between 1913 and 1917, originally to a length of 1107 metres. The pier was closed in 1985, and 239 metres of it was demolished. However, due to public outcry, 868 metres of the pier was left, and the land was given to the Hervey Bay City Council (now the Fraser Coast Regional Council). 

By 2009 the last 220 metre section of the pier had been fully restored, and the original timber pylons had been replaced with steel pylons with a plastic covering.

Location

Address:Esplanade & Pier Street, Urangan, 4655
State:QLD
Area:AUS
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -25.282941
Long: 152.903474
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map

Details

Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Sub-Theme:Local
Actual Event Start Date:03-March-1917
Actual Event End Date:03-March-2017

Dedication

Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 4th March, 2017
Front Inscription

The Urangan Pier 
1917 - 2017

This plaque was unveiled by His Excellency the Honourable Paul De Jersey AC Governor of Queensland on Saturday 4 March 2017 to commemorate the centenary of the Urangan Pier

The pier was officially opened on 3 March 1917 by the 12th Governor of Queensland , Major Sir Hamilton Goold-Adams GCMG CB.

In the decades that followed it was used for the export and import of goods, playing an essential role in the region`s growth and development. Its continued presence provides a connection to Hervey Bay`s history and is now an historic and iconic landmark much loved and appreciated by locals and visitors. 

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design