150th Anniversary of the First Metcalfe Shire Council MeetingPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Sandra Brown
The plaque commemorates the 150th anniversary of the first Metcalfe Shire Council meeting held in September 1860.

Metcalfe was incorporated as a roa district on 14 August 1860, and became a shire on 18 July 1865. Metcalfe absorbed two boroughs which had previously been separately governed; On 7 October 1870, the Taradale Borough was united, while the Chewton Borough, created on 14 December 1860 with an area of 23.31 square kilometres (9.00 sq mi), was united on 2 May 1916.

On 20 January 1995, the Shire of Metcalfe was abolished, and, along with the City of Castlemaine and the Shires of Maldon and Newstead, was merged into the newly created Shire of Mount Alexander. The town of Redesdale and the area surrounding Lake Eppalock were transferred into the City of Greater Bendigo.


Address:5 Kyneton - Metcalfe Road, Metcalfe Shire Hall, Metcalfe, 3448
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.102604
Long: 144.423831
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:10-September-1860
Actual Event End Date:10-September-2010


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Friday 17th September, 2010
Front Inscription

 Commemorating the 150th anniversary of
the first Metcalfe Shire Council meeting, held on
10 September 1860 on this site.

This plaque was unveiled by
the Mayor of Mount Alexander Shire Council,
 on 17 September 2010.

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au