Commencement of Botanic GardensPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth

The cairn commemorates the commencement of the new Botanic Gardens project in 1970.

The gardens, which were originally called the Mount Coot-tha Botanic Gardens and which cover 52 hectares, were established by the Brisbane City Council in 1970, and officially opened in 1976. The gardens are the second botanical gardens established in Brisbane. The original gardens, now known as the City Botanic Gardens are located in the Brisbane CBD at Gardens Point. The new gardens were developed by the City Council because the original city site could not be expanded and was flood prone.


Address:Mount Coot-tha Road, Brisbane Botanic Gardens, Mount Coot-tha, 4066
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -27.475448
Long: 152.976804
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Government


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Tuesday 31st March, 1970
Front Inscription

Brisbane City Council

This cairn commemorates the commencement of the project of a New Botanic Gardens to be developed in this park

31 - 3 - 70  Clem Jones
                   Lord Mayor



Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design