Creation of Hobsons Bay City CouncilPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders
The monument commemorates the creation of the Hobsons Bay City Council in 1994.

Hobsons Bay City Council was founded on 22 June 1994 during the amalgamation of local councils by the Kennett Government from the City of Williamstown and the City of Altona, as well as the suburb of Souht Kingsville from the City of Footscray. It took its name from Hobsons Bay, named after Captain William Hobson.


Address:Civic Parade, Hobsons Bay Civic Centre , Altona, 3018
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.864072
Long: 144.830819
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:22-June-1994
Actual Event End Date:22-June-1994


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 22nd June, 1996
Front Inscription

This marker records the acceptance and celebration of the proclaimed Hobsons Bay City Council

It was unveiled on the 22nd of June 1996 by the Governor of Victoria His Excellency the Hon. Richard E. McGarvie, AC in the presence of the citizens of Hobsons Bay

The first elected Council
Mayor Steven Kingshott

Brad Matheson - Deputy Mayor

Kelly Minogue  Carl Marsich
Linelle Gibson  Dick Murdoch
Kevin Skehan, OAM  Bill Sommers

Chief Executive Officer
Ken McNamara

Commemorating the anniversary of the creation of the Hobsons Bay City Council on the 22nd of June 1994

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design