Shire of Birchip StaffPrint Page Print this page

Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders
A plaque commemorates the councillors, officers and staff who served on the Shire of Birchip Council from 1895 to 1995.

The Shire of Birchip was a local governement area located about 170 kilometres (106 mi) northwest of Bendigo in northwestern Victoria, Australia. The shire covered an area of 1,468 square kilometres (566.8 sq mi), and existed from 1895 until 1995. On 20 January 1995, the Shire of Birchip was abolished, and, along with the Shires of Charlton, Donald and Wycheproof, and parts of the Shire of Kara Kara was merged into the newly created Shire of Buloke.


Address:Cumming Avenue, Shire Chambers, Birchip, 3483
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.979962
Long: 142.917736
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 13th April, 1995
Front Inscription

Shire of Birchip
1895 - 1995

This plaque acknowledges the services of
councillors, officers and staff during the
past 100 years.

Members of the last Council of the Shire
President : Cr. W. E. Lee
Councillors :  A. W. Barber  G. A. Gould OAM  J. Richmond  G. D. Sharp  G. A. Cullinan  B. C. Hogan  J. Russell  J. Van Braam
Acting Chief Executive Officer :
Mr. P. M. Swindells BBS (LG)
Technical Services Officer :
Mr . F. Brocklebank Dip CE, CE, AMIE (Aust)
Unveiled on 13 April, 1995 by
His Excellency Hon. R. E. McGarvie A.C.  
Governor of Victoria.

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design