City of Clarence ProclamationPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Arthur Garland

The Monument commemorates the proclamation of the City of Clarence in November 1988.

The City of Clarence is a city and local government area in Tasmania, Australia. Along with Hobart and Glenorchy, Clarence is one of the three cities that constitute the Greater Hobart Area. The administrative centre of Clarence at Rosny Park is approximately 5 kilometres from the CBD of Hobart. In the 1970s and 1980s the expansion of the Municipality of Clarence continued. Many previously rural areas developed into residential areas. New suburbs arose, such as Flagstaff Gully, Geilston Bay, and Old Beach to the north, and Cremorne, Howrah, Lauderdale, Rokeby, and Tranmere towards the south of the city. At the same time, Rosny Park continued to grow in importance as the administrative centre of the city.

The growth was such that the municipality was officially incorporated as a city on 24 November 1988, with the population having grown beyond 50,000. In 1993, the nearby town of Richmond was absorbed into the city of Clarence.


Address:38 Bligh Street, Council Chambers, Rosny Park, 7018
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -42.864537
Long: 147.368982
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Government


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1988
Front Inscription

City of Clarence

First settled
8 September 1803

Proclaimed a Municipality
5 October 1860

Proclaimed a city
24 November 1988

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design